I changed hosts, now my backups don't work.

Switching hosts has a number of implications for your backup. A new host will often mean that all of the paths to your files will change, the user and group associated with your content will change and the permissions for the files will change. In order to ensure consistency in the event that you need to restore your website content, we strongly recommend that you remove the backup that was created from your old website and create a new backup from your new hosting provider.

If you would like to switch hosting providers for a website that is already backed up on CodeGuard, follow these steps:

  1. Download a zip file of any backup of the site you would like to keep. To do this, click on the “Restore” tab in your CodeGuard dashboard. Next, click “Restore Options” and then “Request Zip” (see this video tutorial for a walkthrough).
  2. Delete the site hosted by your old hosting provider. To delete a website, click on the “Settings” tab in your CodeGuard dashboard, scroll down to “Delete Website” and click the link below.
  3. Re-add your site to CodeGuard under your new hosting provider. Adding a website will vary depending on your type of plan. See this article for more help on adding a website.

If you have a multi-site account and have the space, you can keep your old backups as long as you need them, but if you are signed up for our Ninja Plan, you will need to delete the old website before you're able to add your site to your account again.

If you have any questions about this process, please contact CodeGuard Support.



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request