WordPress Automatic Updates

Are you backing up a WordPress website using SFTP or FTP and MySQL? Do you hate having to keep up with making sure your WordPress plugins are updated? Do you hate when you do update a plugin and it breaks your site? We can help!

How does it work? We check each of your plugins that are on the WordPress repository and see if any updates are available. If an update is available for a plugin, we will automatically update the plugin, check to see if your website is still working. If all goes well, your plugin is updated for you, and if anything is wrong, we will revert the plugin back to its previous state.

If we are able to detect that your website is a WordPress site, you will find an option in your website's settings page to enable WordPress Automatic Updates.

Settings.png

If this option is not present on your website's settings, we may not have been able to detect that your website is a WordPress site. This can be due to a few different factors.

The first possibility is that you did not choose your WordPress root directory as the root directory of your backup. For instance, your WordPress installation may live in the public_html folder, but you chose the home directory of your server as the root path instead. If this is the case, you will need to re-add your website choosing the proper root directory for your backups.

Your wp-config.php file may not be present in your WordPress root directory. Some people move this file outside their root directory for security purposes. If that is the case, simply submit a support ticket letting us know that you would like the option to automatically update your plugins and provide us with the WordPress database name.

Another issue might be that you do not have a standard WordPress installation, and your file/folder names may be different than what our system is looking for. In that case, we may not be able to provide automatic updates for you.

If this option isn't available for you, you can always do this yourself. Run an update on your plugin, and if it breaks anything, you can use the restore feature of your CodeGuard account to revert back to its previous state.

As always, if you have any questions about this, we're here to help, so don't hesitate to submit a support ticket.



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request